mts to fcp

Posted by michaelharvey 
mts to fcp
January 18, 2014 04:38PM
Hi,
I'm a newbie and have been struggling with this for a few days, so I would really appreciate some advice.

My question is this:
I have shot footage in 24p with a prosumer camcorder and it gave me MTS files.
I am converting to ProresLT and for some reason, it's showing up at 29.97. Will I lose the "film" look I have gone after since I shot in 24p? How about when I do slow motion in FCP? Will that look worse in 29.97?

Here is the full story:

The MTS files are on my PC. The directory from the camera no longer directory exists, so I cant bring them into FCP directly.

I edit in FCP6 on an IMAC (MAC OSX 10.5.8), so MTS files have to be converted to something that will work in FCP and moved over to MAC from the PC.

Please note I have no budget so need to do this without buying additional software. i need to do it using free software only. I am also limited in not having an external harddrive to transfer from PC to MAC, but I have workarounds for all those issues.

The best way I have found to do this is using FREE MTS CONVERTER to convert to proresLT which I thought would be a good format to work from. ( I can change it if necessary).

The files end up being huge in ProresLT, over 5gb each.

So now I use FREE VIDEO CUTTER to cut the files small enough (under 5 gb) that I can move them to the MAC with a USB drive or DVDs.

So again, My question is this:
I have shot footage in 24p with a prosumer camcorder and it gave me MTS files.
I am converting to ProresLT and for some reason, it's showing up at 29.97. Will I lose the "film" look I have gone after since I shot in 24p? How about when I do slow motion in FCP? Will that look worse in 29.97?

Any better ideas given my limitations...?

thanks so much,
Michael
Re: mts to fcp
January 18, 2014 04:54PM