Basics of "Onlining"

Posted by RePete 
Basics of "Onlining"
August 16, 2005 04:37PM
I am a novice at this obviously.... What exactly happens when you "online" a high def project? Do you import (in full resolution) the parts from your timeline onto your computer drive? Does it add a few seconds of extra footage before and after? How much GB space does 1:45 minutes of high def take up on a hard drive?
Re: Basics of "Onlining"
August 16, 2005 04:45PM
Which HI DEF format are you utilizing ? Uncompressed? DVDPRO100? HDV?
Greg Kozikowski
August 16, 2005 07:30PM

To answer the generic question, yes, on-lining is so expensive because it's the real thing. Everything's in real time and original resolution.

It's the last time for you to say that you don't like something or want to change a little thing here or there.

This is the step where you can't say, "don't worry about that crappy video and deplorable sound, it will be fine in the on-line version."

Worry. This **is** the on-line version.

Koz
August 16, 2005 08:33PM
My reason for asking is that HDV and DVCPRO100 is about the same data rate as DV, so disk bandwidth is not a real consideration that way uncompressed HD would be.

With Final Cut Pro it is always about Onlining vs offline first because FCP can do any format from DV to HD uncompressed with equal ease.
August 17, 2005 02:24AM
[My reason for asking is that HDV and DVCPRO100 is about the same data rate as DV]

They are? DV is 3.6 MB/s. HDV is 19 MB/s, DVCPRO 100 is 80 MB/s.

- Loren
Today's FCP 5 keytip:
Set your custom layouts by pressing
Option>Windows>Arrange>Set Custom Layout.
Access your custom layouts 1 & 2 with Shift & Option-U!

The FCP 5 KeyGuide?: your power placemat.
Now available at KeyGuide Central
www.neotrondesign.com
August 17, 2005 04:08AM