OT ethics / documentary question

Posted by wayne granzin 
hey gang, hate to add yet another katrina based post. as you guys may know, im here in houston tx. and as im also sure youve heard, a vast number of katrina refugees are being housed here in our former astrodome for an as yet undefined period of time.

on that subject. my girlfriend and i are scheduled to go volunteer at the dome and possible others of the facilities.

my question is: i would love to take my camera with me and get some first hand testimonials from some of these people - just for documentary sake. but at the same time that feels slightly predatory? im at one hand excited to get some real life stories on tape, on the other hand i feel like a complete ass for even considering it...

anyone have any feelings on the subject? we are possibly scheduled to begin helping tomorrow night?
I was in a similar situation several years ago. I was a volunteer firefighter/EMT, and after an endless rainstorm a mudslide took out a house on the water. No one knew for sure if the family had been inside (they were remodeling and often spent nights elsewhere). We spent a long day digging through the mud and rubble and finally found what we hoped we wouldn't. One by one bodies were uncovered and carried out. I remember wishing I had a camera with me because the human drama in the faces of the firefighters working the whole day was something I really wanted to record. I mentioned that wish to someone and they thought I was ghoulish. That's not what I was after, it was the humanity and the depth of feeling. It was a very profound moment in time and I wanted to preserve it. Not sell it or exploit it, probably only let firefighters and family see the pictures. But I didn't take any, because I had no camera.