re: DigiBeta online

Posted by Derek Mok 
September 19, 2005 09:39AM
I've just been appointed a job that I've never done before so I wanted to check if I have the methods down correctly. Any help would be appreciated.

Forty-five-second commercial shot on 35mm, telecined to DigiBeta normally at 29.97fps, will stay there (for obvious reasons) for broadcast. Show has been captured at Uncompressed 8-bit. They have colour-corrected some shots and re-exported them onto a new DigiBeta tape, with matching timecode to the original tapes. The non-colour-corrected shots will stay put. My task is to go in, recapture and recut the new shots into the timeline, and then export an EDL for the Flame artists who would be onlining the show.

So what I think I'll be doing is:
- Cross-checking capture settings with the old clips and making sure current settings match
- Load tapes, log, capture individual shots. (The station has been known to have dropped-frame problems and Capture Now or logging as one big chunk could end up costing more time than it saves.)
- Replace clips in timeline with colour-corrected clips.
- Check accuracy of new captures against old picture cut. I'm planning on using Crop to do a temporary split-screen -- old clip on one side, new clip on the other -- to check codes as well as picture matching.
- Fine-tune editing where necessary, as instructed by the producer.
- Export EDL.

There will be two versions in two languages, so it's a double workload.

Since the whole spot is 45 seconds, and the producer said the new clips (from four different tapes) matched timecode to the original tapes, I'm thinking the new tape will also have TC breaks, so it may be easier to do this by hand?

I will be working on an FCP5 station with a Sony DigiBeta deck (don't know the model yet). They are using a Kona 2 card (with a K-Box or KL-Box, don't know which) with SDI going out of the deck, and SDI going into the computer.