Military Veteran needs your help

Posted by usajpntv 
Military Veteran needs your help
May 12, 2009 03:48PM
All,

I have been fighting the VA (Veterans Administration) for 2 years to allow me attend "Video Symphony". I have been in or around video production (mostly as it relates to satellite broadcast - I have been a broardcast operator wiith Directv for 7 years handing uplink, downlink and fiber network health) since leaving the military 12 years ago, and was ready to learn something new.

Finally! They have said "Yes" (Yeah I know!...The VA said yes!...to me!) This is were I hope someone can help me. In order for me to attend the school. I have to show the government that there is a demend for video editor out there The government calls this a "Labor Market Survey". In which I have to have 10 people or companies that would say they'd hire a video editor from Video symphony. Does not mean you have to hire me now or in the future, but that you would hire a video editor from video symphony.

So if you can help me out I would so thankful...If you have any question or think you can help please give me a call 562-841-8965

Thanks

Mark

S/F

P.S. I am set to start school July 7 and I have been checking for positions on Monster.com/Latimes.com and Calmis.ca.gov
Re: Military Veteran needs your help
May 12, 2009 07:45PM
Hi Mark-

I think that might be a bit difficult. Video Symphony is certainly one qualified training center but I don't imagine they can guarantee placement to their graduates. Working as an editor is an extremely competitive market and there are lots of people vying for the jobs, especially these days. That's not to say you couldn't get a gig with Video Symphony training alone but that's also to say that it should be one component of a long-term effort to forge a career.