getting FCP XML to "talk" to other App's

Posted by John Lundsten 
getting FCP XML to "talk" to other App's
February 04, 2010 05:10PM
Hi
I'm new round here. I've rather many years experience as a "Film" Editor [sprockets, then tape & now NLE, including FCP for sure] + much work in sound recording & Audio Post.

And I'm now spending loads of time beta testing & developing a program to convert DAW & NLE session data from one format to another.
[www.aatranslator.com.au]

This is way more complex than I ever imagined, but I reckon even if it makes no sense commercially (IE no-way will I get rich doing this) as a "user" I know (ok well, believe) it is a dam fine idea to be able to use whatever "tools" are out there. I'm equally aware that many DAW/NLE selling Corporations spend loads of time & effort making this as difficult as they possibly can.

A digression; way back various Companies had developed ways to use the capabilities of affordable Computers to aid Music composition. But they all had mutually incompatible ways of achieving the same aims.

But what happened was rather than investing in the idea of wiping out all the competing systems (as for sure Avid/digidesign are intent on doing right now) they decided to go with a common shared standard called MIDI, and the market exploded. Sales were phenomenal, almost everyone was a winner.

I wish this desirability of a common standards to both increase creative possibilities & sales were true for for Audio & Video editing programs. But IMO this is far from true.

Now in term of Pro quality or broadcast capable & viable NLE's the list is quite small.

But when it comes to Audio Post for Film/TV, there are loads of viable DAW's. Ok Pro-Tools is one of them, but there are many viable & to be honest way better app's available.
We, [www.aatranslator.com.au] are dedicated to open the possibility to convert between as many session/project formats as possible.