New Series cut on Final Cut Pro

Posted by etozzi 
New Series cut on Final Cut Pro
February 22, 2007 10:44AM
Hi everyone, I've been a Final Cut editor for about 7 years now. Bought my own system in 05 and it's been great. I've just begun work as the director and editor of a new series called the Drity Bomb Diaries. It's an episodic drama for the web told in 3 minute episodes. There will be a total of 28 when it's all said and done. The opening title sequence was done in Final Cut with basic titles and the Overdrive filter which has a pretty cool look to it. Anyhow, please have a look and feel free to fire back any comments you might have. We're really trying to get a large viewership for this. Anyhow, here are the links.

YouTube Link
EP1

EP2

Myspace Series Page
[www.myspace.com]
Re: New Series cut on Final Cut Pro
February 22, 2007 11:03AM
Very nice job. Love the premise and dual crisis. Girl on her own for first time and a dirty bomb goes off. Might of liked a little more panic out of the girl. Awful calm for such a horrible event.

Michael Horton
-------------------
February 22, 2007 11:34AM
An engaging opening. Also, the compression is pretty good for YouTube.

I'm wondering whether you might want to distress the image a bit, give it some texture, a bit more of a sense of dread.

Some more details in the sound design might be good as well. I like going the approach of "quiet", but "quiet" in real life also means you hear things you normally don't pay attention to. I think there could be more creative detailing in there. The music is fine as it stands. Some more texture can help complement it.

Good job overall.

Here's another funny tidbit. I had composed a track in Soundtrack months ago that uses a lot of the parts you did:

[www.derekmok.com]

www.derekmok.com
February 23, 2007 02:32AM
I love the fact that the sound design is very good. That no expensive visual effects were needed to convey what happened. Very well done.