My first demo reel

Posted by FOGProductions 
My first demo reel
June 09, 2010 08:48AM
I'm just starting out as a videographer and I wanted some opinions on my demo reel. Here it is.

Thanks!
Re: My first demo reel
June 09, 2010 09:09AM
My 2 cents as an objective observer:

1. First impression - I would never post a Demo Reel on YouTube. It destroys the integrity of the compression. It also looks to clients like you are cheap and cannot afford your own website. It costs a little more than $100 per year ($125 includes a domain name registry) to have your own web host space where you can display your own website with high Quality H264 Demo Reels. This is what I use (the "Business Plan"winking smiley:

[icdsoft.com]

2. Since Weddings seems to be your niche at the moment (which is cool...I started with Weddings in '91...lots of space to play with the images), I would HIGHLY suggest getting a stabilizer for your camera. Your footage is way too shaky which loses that professional feel. Even professional hand-held is more stable. Any of these Glidecam Pro units will be great and has great reviews:

[www.bhphotovideo.com]

3. I would treat the footage in post. It looks too "home-movieish". It needs a more "fantasy-like" look for weddings. Pick up Magic Bullet Looks for FCP. You won't regret it:

[www.redgiantsoftware.com]

Good luck - keep at it thumbs down

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

June 11, 2010 04:34AM
If you need to stream your videos or just don't have a website, I'd recommend going to [vimeo.com] instead of Youtube. For presenting yourself, you could also make a blog for free at f.ex. [wordpress.com] and show pictures through [www.flickr.com] ( I haven't tried videos on wordpress yet, anyone got any tips there?). Best of luck!
June 11, 2010 08:00PM
Yes. As Joey mentioned, host it yourself. It's really quite affordable these days.