Newbie question: How do you import wmv files into Final Cut Pro?

Posted by Choc_123 
Newbie question: How do you import wmv files into Final Cut Pro?
January 17, 2011 02:02PM
I currently have final cut studio version and am trying to add chapters to a file that was given to me. However, the file is a wmv format, and I'm assuming I would need to convert it to a .mov file in order to work with it? What's the best way to convert a wmv to a file that can be used in final cut pro? And is there anything in Final Cut Pro Studio that could be used to do that? For example, Compressor...could I use that, or should I be purchasing another program? Sorry for these questions, I'm pretty new to using the programs included in final cut studio and thought I would ask the experts!

Thanks,
T
Re: Newbie question: How do you import wmv files into Final Cut Pro?
January 17, 2011 02:30PM
You can download Flip4Mac so that you can read the file and then use Compressor to convert it to a QuickTime movie. ProRes is a suitable codec to use.

[www.telestream.net]

Note: newer versions of Flip4Mac put a watermark on the movie when you convert it, so you may need to install an older version or purchase the full version of Flip4Mac to achieve what you want.

My software:
Pro Maintenance Tools - Tools to keep Final Cut Studio, Final Cut Pro X, Avid Media Composer and Adobe Premiere Pro running smoothly and fix problems when they arise
Pro Media Tools - Edit QuickTime chapters and metadata, detect gamma shifts, edit markers, watch renders and more
More tools...
January 17, 2011 11:36PM
Hey Jon,