converting AVCHD

Posted by Rita Leistner 
converting AVCHD
January 19, 2012 09:30PM
Hi, I am new to FCP. I am currently converting AVCHD.mts 1060p/60 files from my Panasonic HDC-TM900 on ClipWrap2 on my MacBookPro. I'm using ClipWrap2 because I saw it recommended on this forum. I also saw recommendations for Volataic -- from what I understand, Voltaic is prohibitively slow. But I would appreciate advice on which of the two converters I should use. The ClipWrap2 is easy to use, so that is a plus. But if ClipWrap2 is damaging my files, then I suppose it is worth the extra download time to use Voltaic. Does anyone have an answer for this?

Another question: When I drag the files into ClipWrap2, should I drag the whole AVCHD folder with its subfolders directly into the conversion window (this works), or should I drag the individual .mts files into the window. Does it make any difference?

Thank you for any advice you might have. I have been struggling trying to figure this out for a few days now. I am a still photographer, so I have some grasp of how files work, but this is a whole new ballgame. I'm grateful this forum is here. I live in Canada by the way, so I can't come to the Wednesday night meetings, which sound amazing.
Re: converting AVCHD
January 20, 2012 06:31AM
> But I would appreciate advice on which of the two converters I should use.

The first choice should be FCP's own Log and Transfer, because it embeds metadata such as time-of-day timecode, reel names, and clip-name information that allows clips to be re-transferred with identical attributes.

As for ClipWrap vs. Voltaic, I've only used the latter, and it's slooooow. From what I've read, ClipWrap is better.

www.derekmok.com
January 20, 2012 10:27AM
derekmok Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> > But I would appreciate advice on which of the
> two converters I should use.
>
> The first choice should be FCP's own Log and
> Transfer, because it embeds metadata such as