Turning off / Viewing Layers

Posted by Moonface 
Turning off / Viewing Layers
August 31, 2009 07:23PM
I am a freelance editor and use both fcp and avid systems. in general, i prefer fcp. however, one thing i can do in the avid that i have not been able to figure out in fcp is this: let's say there are 5 video tracks, all rendered. if i want to see what is happening on one of the lower layers in the avid, i just turn off the higher layers and it shows me what is below. if i try this in fcp, i get a warning about losing all my renders. that's not good.

mikey
Re: Re: Turning off / Viewing Layers
August 31, 2009 08:03PM
> if i want to see what is happening on one of the lower layers in the avid, i just turn off the
> higher layers and it shows me what is below. if i try this in fcp, i get a warning about losing all
> my renders. that's not good.

Unfortunately, you're doing something that most people get wrong when they aren't completely immersed in Final Cut Pro.

Don't bother with the track on/off buttons on the left. They are awkward, destroy render files, take a long time to activate, and unresponsive. Use Clip Enable/Disable (CONTROL-B) instead. First of all, you can control exactly which clips to turn on/off. Second, it's a toggle operation, and the timeline is very clear about which clips are enabled and which are not. Finally, it's an undoable operation, so after you see the bottom layer, just undo a few times to get back to where it was.