Final Cut Pro X - still Pro

Posted by Alex4D 
Re: Final Cut Pro X - still Pro
May 01, 2011 02:30PM
As I've been saying since August 2010, Final Cut Pro X is built on AV foundation, bundled into the App package.
May 01, 2011 02:32PM
Don't bet on a configurable Final Cut Pro X. I know the source of those rumors and they're not accurate.
May 01, 2011 02:33PM
Sorry Philip, you're going to have to fill your posts with more wild conjecture and pointless worrying and less solid concrete information full of these "facts". Only then will we listen.

ak
Sleeplings, AWAKE!
May 01, 2011 02:35PM
There is no tape capture in Final Cut Pro X because there is no metadata coming from tape (other than the crude thing that is Timecode). Final Cut Pro X is based entirely on metadata, so tape had to be missed from being internal to Final Cut Pro X.

You can still capture with Final Cut Pro 7 and go back to tape with that, or with the utilities supplied by Blackmagic or AJA.

I predicted the lack of tape support in FCP X back in April 2010 and was eviscerated for it.

In an ideal world it's too early to remove tape, but in the real world, when you're building an app for the next 10-15 years, tape will clearly not be part of that vision.
May 01, 2011 02:38PM
I don't do wild speculation. Sorry. smiling smiley

Just a combination of very good data points and extrapolation. So far I think I'm batting about 75% accuracy on my predictions for FCP over the last year. I don't think anyone else is close to that.

Maybe more wild speculation in the future.
May 01, 2011 02:38PM
The workaround regarding tape should be easy enough, I hope. Use FC7 to ingest tape and then transfer over the media files to FCX's capture scratch.
Steve

steve-sharksdelight
May 01, 2011 02:39PM
Much better than "reel and timecode" would be to base media management entirely on a database. Oh, and while you're at it, base the whole application on a database so we never lose work, and never lose media connections.