K-12 Education: Camcorder Purchase Recommendation

Posted by kinigita 
K-12 Education: Camcorder Purchase Recommendation
August 08, 2012 04:55PM
I am a K-8 teacher and am writing a grant to purchase new camcorders compatible with both iMovie 11 and Final Cut Pro. Any mid-price range camcorder recommendations? I currently use canon camcorders with iMovie 09 and struggle with audio, image quality and the green screen never works...

Much appreciation!
Re: K-12 Education: Camcorder Purchase Recommendation
August 08, 2012 07:39PM
I would suggest a mid-price AVCHD camera, assuming your computers have enough processor power for H.264 media. This will work well with FCP. iMovie will require more drive space as it converts the media.

All the best,

Tom
August 09, 2012 05:06PM
Any thoughts on Panasonic SD9 ($1000) vs TM40 ($250)? Is the SD9 worth the price?
August 09, 2012 06:06PM
Much of the time you get what you pay for. Its best to read the reviews on these cameras, see what you will get for your money and figure what is best for the kids who will be using them. Obviously at this age they do not need all the bells and whistles of the more expensive cameras, but some of these cams can shoot pretty bad images and that might turn off a few of the kids. But, you know, you make good with what you got most of the time, so dont fret over this too much. Just make sure your it works with iMovie or FCP or whatever you use.

Michael Horton
-------------------
August 09, 2012 07:30PM
We enter a lot of video contests so image and audio is important. Do you have a favorite (affordable) camera?
August 09, 2012 07:45PM
No, I'm not a shooter but lets face it, play within your budget and find a cam within that budget that would be suitable. I'm afraid the TM40 would not be a good choice. But the SD9 might. But I'd keep looking.

Michael Horton
-------------------
August 10, 2012 12:52PM