Help Please: FCP X Keeps deleting some of my proxy files.

Posted by hoyoscata 
Help Please: FCP X Keeps deleting some of my proxy files.
July 05, 2013 05:40PM
Hey all,

So this is my first project on X after using 7 and I'm having a stupid problem that I don't seem to be able to fix.

After I had made all my proxies I accidentally disconnected the drive without ejecting it. Of course FCP X freaked out and I had to quit. Next time I launched it, it said that there were some corrupted files and that in order to protect the project, it was going to delete them. When I saw what the damage had been, I realized that more than half of my proxies were gone, I kicked and screamed but sat back down to transcode them again. This was last night. I closed FCP X, made a back up by copying files drive to drive (not with the cool "duplicate" feature) and went to bed.

This morning I tried to open FCP X and to my surprise, almost the same files that I had transcoded a second time were gone again. I looked at the proxies on the back up and they're there so by last night the files were transcoded. I copied the missing proxies from the back up to the main drive hoping it would read them. When I opened FCPX again, it didn't see them and when I looked at the drive through the finder the files were gone. This makes me think that every time FCPX opens, it deletes the proxies, I guess thinking that those are the corrupted ones.

Then I tried to open my project from the back up drive and FCP X doesn't even recognize the files on there. I looked for the event from within FCPX but it just doesn't show up and then I tried to open the file directly from the back up drive and it opens FC but then a sign comes up saying that I should try opening that file from within FCPX so I'm screwed right now.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!!!
Re: Help Please: FCP X Keeps deleting some of my proxy files.
July 06, 2013 11:46AM
Since I don't want to start with wrong assumptions...
You created the proxies within FCPX?