Calling all Avid experts

Posted by Joe Riggs 
Calling all Avid experts
June 27, 2011 04:53AM
I have a single .mxf (avid format, not sure which one) that I'd like to convert to quicktime to be able to edit in FCP. After doing some research it seems that without a third party plugin, my only option is to bring it into Avid (I am using MC 5.5) and export to QT through the program.

This is my first time using Avid and I can't believe how difficult it is to import a clip, I get "you cannot import this file into a bin". I have read that this might be an issue with how Avid deals with media but I'd rather not deal with a whole project, reconnecting, etc...

I just want to start a new project, import that one clip and export as QT, is that possible?
Re: Calling all Avid experts
June 27, 2011 10:58AM
Just taking a stab at this: try using the Sony XDCAM Transfer plug-in to import the file into FCP7.

MXF is a container architecture like QuickTime, able to carry numerous codecs, plus timecode and other metadata. It's often generated by Avid systems but also others.

- Loren

Today's FCP 7 keytip:
Temporarily mix down audio tracks with Command-Option - R !

Your Final Cut Studio KeyGuide? Power Pack
with FCP7 KeyGuide --
now available at KeyGuide Central.
www.neotrondesign.com
June 27, 2011 11:47AM
As stated, Avid captures to a different media format...MXF. Also shared by P2 and XDCAM. Avid also captures Audio and Video separate...so if you have ONE MXF file, it will be picture or audio only, not both.

Try the ClipBrowser route...that's an interesting idea. But barring that, you need Avid. But there is a 30-day demo available for it, so you can download that and use that to convert to QT. But you need to be aware that Avid can only see that media if it is in a very specific folder structure. And it isn't like FCP where you import the MXF file, you have to use the MEdia TOOL to get it. Avid is VERY different from FCP.

www.shanerosseditor.com