Insufficient disc space for encoding

Posted by julesbowman 
Insufficient disc space for encoding
October 24, 2006 02:27PM
Hi all,

so, i've been using the FCP suite for about 18 months and DVD Studio Pro for the same length of time, and have managed to do every project i've tried.

Now, i am repeatedly getting an error:

Insifficient disc space for encoding. Please free up disc space on your encoding target drive.

Now, in preferences it says that the encoding target drive (if i'm looking at the correct bit - second from the right in the list of preferences options) is a folder on my HD, which currently has 42 gigs available. The project is only 2.8 GB, so even doubling that i believe it should be fine.

I'm using the same DVD-Rs as ever (although i'm not sure it would even be them), and i'm now stumped.

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

Jules
Re: Insufficient disc space for encoding
October 24, 2006 02:51PM
Hey julesbowman,

are you encoding straight out of FCP, are you using DVD SP's encoder or are you using compressor to encode your QT files?

it sounds like it has nothing to due with your DVD discs, but with the digital files themselves.

i can definetly help you on this , but need a little more info:
-what preferences are you referring to (as in what application)
-is your video SD or HD
-and are you encoding straight from FCP or are you using QT files created in FCP to encode
October 24, 2006 03:08PM
Hi Mikey, thanks for the offer.

Ok, I have exported self contained QT files of completed projects from FCP. I have imported these into DVD SP, created my menu, added music, a background graphic, etc. Now what i usually do at this point is hit BURN. Then it does it's sweet little business. But this time after a short while it started telling me what i put above (and has never done this before).