NEED HELP, VIDEO TO LARGE TO BURN TO DISK

Posted by rickstar32 
NEED HELP, VIDEO TO LARGE TO BURN TO DISK
November 06, 2010 03:30PM
I spent all last week learning dvd studio pro enough to create menus etc for my movie and now when I try to burn it tells me that the file is to large..Its showing 9.8 gb in DSP..is there a way to compress this without losing quality on a 4.7 dvd+r? My settings are bit rate 4.0 and max bit rate 7.0.. or is there a way to use toast to burn the film? Any help is appreciated, replicators are waiting on me! Im not a pro at the software...Thanks much.
Re: NEED HELP, VIDEO TO LARGE TO BURN TO DISK
November 09, 2010 01:29PM
DSP is only part of the equation when creating DVDs.
Compression is the other factor. You can compress video and still have it look good but you will lose quality no matter how you are making it smaller.

How long is your program? A DVD-5(4.7 dvd) is going to show signs of compression if you try and put more than 120 minutes on it. You will even start to see it at 90 depending on how you compress it.

How did you create the files for your DVD?
Presuming you didn't duplicate any media can you tell me how big the different elements are? video, menus, audio

I would recommend using -R media when submitting to your replicator and also make sure you are authoring with AC3 audio.
November 09, 2010 04:56PM
My film is about 110minutes, my issue is I am wanting to use the film also for scene selections on menu 2..can you not use the same movie file and connect to both menus? I compressed the audio to ac3.. what settings would you recommend in compressor? I could just compress the file with markers.
November 09, 2010 05:16PM
Start with the 120 min best SD preset but make sure you adjust the data rate so that it tells you that at least 114 minutes will fit.

If this is supposed to operate like most studio DVDs you just need to put the chapter markers in the track and name accordingly so that you can navigate to the correct marker.