OT: Printer recommendation for DVD covers

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
OT: Printer recommendation for DVD covers
January 06, 2011 10:43AM
I know this is a little bit off topic, but I need help here.

I have a printer that I use almost exclusively for printing my DVD covers. I have been using Epson for nearly 10 years because I like the quality, and I have been able to get by pretty well with using generic inks since the printer gets regular use. Well, my printer just died (Epson R340) and my boss' home printer is a newer Epson, but it will not accept generic inks, even though you can buy them for that model printer.

I'm wondering if anyone out there has a nice, fairly inexpensive printer that you use that is also pretty cost-effective with ink.

I have been perfectly happy with the quality of my R340...which I see on Epson's website that it has been replaced by the Artisan 50 printer. I don't need the DVD printing capabilities or any other bells and whistles...I'm just looking for a decent printer that can use cheaper or generic ink...oh, and borderless printing is a must.

I have talked to places like SuperMediaStore and Meritline, trying to figure out if these newer Epson printers work with generic ink...they always say yes, but they also said yes to my boss' printer which absolutely refuses anything but OEM inks, so I don't really trust what they say. I'm hoping to find someone with firsthand experience.

Thanks!
Casey Petersen
Re: OT: Printer recommendation for DVD covers
January 09, 2011 04:54PM
If you do not need the cd printer then i would suggest you looking into a laser printer. Brother makes a laser for about 259. The toner is about 85. but it will give you 20x the printing before refill. ( like 20 ink changes ).
there even more at the 350 range. ( hp, cannon, epson even)

""" What you do with what you have, is more important than what you could do, with what you don't have."

> > > Knowledge + Action = Wisdom - J. Corbett 1992
""""
January 10, 2011 09:06AM