HD DVD and Player

Posted by Nick Baer 
HD DVD and Player
March 02, 2012 10:20PM
Could someone bring us up-to-date with DVD Studio Pro and Lion?

I have been shooting HD for the past 2 years, but dumb down to 720x480.for SD DVDs.

I'm upgrading my gear, and finally deciding to do everything 1920x1080i.

Is there a good FAQ or Wiki here about DSP, that takes into account all of the things that Lion changed?

I just burned my first HD DVD, and saw for the first time the HVDVD_TS folder... which DVD Player won't open.

Another forum suggested MPlayer, but it didn't work either.

DO you all keep making SD DVDs, as widescreen or some other variation of what consumers might interpret as "HD"?

Thanks in advance.

Independent photographer, film maker and Producer. In the wonderful UK.
Re: HD DVD and Player
March 03, 2012 12:10PM
HD DVD is a dead format. It has been replaced by Blu-ray discs, which can be burned by Compressor, albeit with far less customization than DVDSP offers. If you want extra control when burning Blu-ray discs I would recommend Adobe Encore.

My software:
Pro Maintenance Tools - Tools to keep Final Cut Studio, Final Cut Pro X, Avid Media Composer and Adobe Premiere Pro running smoothly and fix problems when they arise
Pro Media Tools - Edit QuickTime chapters and metadata, detect gamma shifts, edit markers, watch renders and more
More tools...
March 03, 2012 08:49PM
Thank You. I have no problem skipping over HD DVD and Blu-Ray.

What a shame Apple is letting Adobe create all the great video DVD production Apps.

So I'm thinking, my question revised now is:

My Video and Still cameras shoot 1920x1080i...

Since the Wiki is almost 2 years old, what do I do with 1920x1080i in DSP? Or has everyone abandoned DSP?

I like DSP. How much do I dumb down 1920x1080i to keep DSP happy making a SD DVD? vs. How little do I downsize 1920x1080i to keep the customer happy?

Thanks again,
March 03, 2012 11:09PM