Motion memory problem?

Posted by Kristin Pierce 
Motion memory problem?
September 19, 2005 09:19AM
I am very new to Motion, and thought at first that I was causing the problem, but after adjusting a few things the problem continues to happen. I am now at the point where I need some expert help. :-)

Everytime I use Motion it crashes on me. It doesn't freeze up completely, but it will start doing really funky things in the timeline, and then eventually where ever I move my cursor (anywhere in the program/ toolbar/ desktop, etc.) the images/ graphics/text block up into chunks of colors until it just crashes. It is kind of hard to describe, but basically it screws up. If I put the computer on sleep, and then come back everything is fine again. I am really getting frustrated. I have to be doing something wrong, but don't know what it is. Do I need to install FCP on a serperate partition? I did this with my older versions, but not this one. So, could it be an extension conflict?

Possibly helpful information:

G5 Mac
Dual 2.3 GHZ
2 GB of Ram
ATI Radeon X850 XT:
Chipset Model: ATY,R481
Type: Display
Bus: AGP
Slot: SLOT-1
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x4a48
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-A35804-108

Sequence set to 720X486
All clips should be compatable does have one track of audio at 44 khz
Total project length 15 seconds

The trouble seems to start whenever I apply a behavior to text. Other than that I am really not doing anything complex with filters or effects. I hope someone can help. Thanks for taking the time.

Kristin
Re: Motion memory problem?
September 19, 2005 10:15AM
You don't mention which version of the OS or Quicktime, but I'd recommend a re-install
September 19, 2005 08:02PM
The OS is 10.4.2
And QT 7.0.2