flipping disks

Posted by jenelle 
flipping disks
September 22, 2005 07:11AM
Hi-

I am really new to Motion. I just upgraded to Motion 2. I have a project that requires a series of circles, or disks, to do a flip from the front side to the back - different images on both sides. I am duplicating the website Flash movement, www.landmarkoncentral.com.

I most likely will be exporting to FCP to finish up the spot.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you

Re: flipping disks
September 22, 2005 08:46AM
jenelle,

You don't have to export to FCP, you can launch Motion from inside FCP by using the "Send To "Motion" Project" command and the layer is treated like any other ftg in the FCP timeline.

OR

You can build it in Motion, import the project & cut it into the timeline, work on it some more in Motion, save, and it automatically updates in the FCP timeline.

- Joey

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

September 22, 2005 10:40AM
thank you - is it easy to figure out how to animate the flipping movement with another image on the back side? I haven't gotten that deep into Motion....
September 26, 2005 01:58AM
Jenelle: While doing some tests to see if I could help you, I found that it's easier to do if the sides of the disc are still images and you have access to Photoshop. There are some specific difficulties when you apply the filter I'm going to mention below to images with masks (that you would need to make the sides "circular"winking smiley.

So, ideally, what you need is to first create circular images from stills in Photoshop and import them in Motion. Make sure both sides are the same size and positioned in the same area.