relative positioning of text objects?

Posted by Ron D. 
Hi, all --

I'm fairly new to Motion, but as luck would have it, I'm on a deadline ... :O

My question is:
Is it possible to automatically position one object RELATIVE to another object?

Here are the specifics ...
I'm creating about 75 different versions of a title animation [using AutoMotion, Digital Heaven's excellent batch versioning utility]. I want to have a certain amount of horizontal space between two of the text objects (which are both left-justified). However, the amount of text (and the width of the bounding box) varies from one version to another. If the two text objects are positioned at absolute coordinates, as is usual, then the subjective spacing between them varies, depending on the text.

In essense, if text object A is shorter, I want to position the text object B further to the left. If text A is longer, I want to position text B further to the right. (Because of the design in question, I do need to keep them as two separate objects.)

Any insights? Any help is much appreciated!

Best,
Ron D.
Re: relative positioning of text objects?
April 01, 2006 03:40PM
I don't think so - you would do this in AE with an expression, which Motion does not have.
Mark
Thank you. Probably so. :|

Any other thoughts, anyone?

Re: relative positioning of text objects?
April 02, 2006 04:31AM