Unable to Export Motion Project

Posted by Nick Munning 
Unable to Export Motion Project
November 10, 2008 09:14AM
I've searched all over for the answer to my problem and have tried every trick provided on this site and Apple's.

I'm not a professional and am relatively new to both FCP & Motion but have had no problem exporting either one of these with prior projects which were smaller. This is about 900 MB from what I can tell (I've not been able to fully export the entire file using Quick time so I'm not sure of the exact size).

I've created a project using still images and I suppose what might be considered as a lot of objects using particle emitters and behaviors. Near the end of the project I started noticing that there were places where the play head would stop although the music would continue and then the play head would catch up. Then when I tried to export it would go about 3/4 of the way then crash (Motion would unexpectedly quit). At first I used the default exporting then after several failed attempts I've tried other methods including Robert Moore's, "Out put Your Project with Alpha". I did do it that way on a small file like he suggested and it worked fine. So I think it may have to do with the size of my file.

Here is my computer Info:
Machine Name: Power Mac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac7,3
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.1)
Number Of CPUs: 2
CPU Speed: 2.7 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 4.5 GB
Bus Speed: 1.35 GHz

ATI Radeon 9650: VRAM 256

Any suggestions? Thank you. Nick
Re: Unable to Export Motion Project
November 10, 2008 10:17AM
What output settings are you using? Are you using Compressor or outputting through Quicktime? And what is your destination?
November 10, 2008 01:27PM
Hi Mark, I tried using Compressor (I've never used it before) and I got an "error" message. Destinations have been either to my DESKTOP or MOVIES file on my hard drive.