Is venting allowed? I'll try

Posted by xavpil 
Is venting allowed? I'll try
February 28, 2009 04:45PM
I am a FCP editor trying to learn Motion.
I know I should read books before, but I thought "Hey, what the hell, an Apple application part of the Studio package means that it supports FCP and must share common key commands, behaviors, etc...
Well, it doesn't and it is extremely frustrating.
Why would Apple do such a thing?
I - O - J -K -L and other basic key commands don't even work!
Keyframe editing is a nightmare. I am still trying to figure out how to add a keyframe... ?K isn't doing much...

Thanks for listening...
ANd get rid of my posting if it's annoying people...

Xavier
Re: Is venting allowed? I'll try
February 28, 2009 06:48PM
Hi Xavpil --

Motion is completely different than FCP in lay out--
and operation

I have not read much of the manual myself --

But -
On--- Lynda.com ----- Larry Jordan has a Motion class ---Online ---

He is one of the Best teachers for Apple apps there is -

Lynda.com cost $25 per month Unlimited use --Very Cool --

I would have Never figured out Motion on my own--

Also you need Many gigs of Ram-- at least 4 to be Happy --
the more Ram the better -

--Jay--
March 01, 2009 10:56AM
Good, I/m not the only one thinking it doesn't make too much sense!
I know the tutorials you've mentioned, but I am not a fan of Larry Jordan... For some reasons he bugs me... But I guess I don't have much of a choice because it is a great deal...
March 01, 2009 06:34PM
Larry's a good guy in my book - for another option, I did a tutorial that takes you through a complete project - designed for After Effects users, but great for just about anyone:

[www.rippletraining.com]
March 04, 2009 12:19PM
Larry is a Great teacher --He has been teaching Apple for Ever -- and he know the
questions his students are just getting ready to ask- and pops out the answer
before you get a chance to ask --Jay--
March 13, 2009 05:59PM
Xavier