bad feedback noise obscuring speaker - how to remove?

Posted by Marla Mitchnick 
bad feedback noise obscuring speaker - how to remove?
November 28, 2007 03:07PM
cleaning noise
Posted by: bunnystyal (IP Logged)
Date: April 22, 2007 04:40PM

i got these audio files but theres an annoying sound in the background!is there a way to clean that up in soudntrack pro?

thanks
Hi there Y'all-

It's been a long while since I wrote to café la, because things have been going smoothly here at TED, and this is my FIRST time writing to soundtrack pro, as I am new to it.

I KNOW this is possible, I saw someone from Apple demonstrate this very thing, but I can't find a menu item for it, and I don't know what it is called to look it up.

I need to take three brief instances of mic feedback, which are at VERY different frequencies from the speaker, out altogether. You can't hear what he's saying, and I am hoping to clean this up. It is not like guitar feedback through an amp, it's a low buzz that's quite loud and very brief.

I was surfing through this forum and came upon the following little thread - does this apply to my situation too??? I don't have a spot that ONLY has the bad sound, just one channel of audio that mixes a voice speaking, a lzy chordal piano in the bg, and then this crazy buzz...

Re: cleaning noise
Posted by: David Slater (IP Logged)
Date: April 22, 2007 07:06PM

if it is a consant sound like an air conditioner or background noise like traffic etc the noise tools in STP should be able to clean it up

in the sample editor window select a section of audio that is just the noise you wanna remove

go to the process menu and select set noise print
select the whole section of audio you want to clean and go to the process menu and select reduce noise and adjust the settings to get the results you want

M A R L A

Current System:

FCP 7.0.3 on an MBP 17" from early 2011, running OS 10.8.3

Processor 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3