Soundtrack Pro 2 vs. ProTools LE - need advice.

Posted by tangierc 
Soundtrack Pro 2 vs. ProTools LE - need advice.
May 19, 2008 12:24PM
Folks, I am having a tough time finding a good comparison of how Soundtrack Pro 2 stacks up against ProTools (in this case the LE version since that is what we have).

I am a motion picture editor, but work with people who are more familiar with ProTools, not familiar with Soundtrack Pro 2, and feels that Soundtrack cannot compete with ProTools.

I would like some objective (if possible) comparisons or leads to comparisons of these two pieces of software, ideally from someone who mostly deals with sound. I have both Final Cut Studio and Logic Studio and am often told that they can't do what ProTools does; that Logic (8) and ProTools are designed to do different things for instance and are not fair to compare.

The content that I deal with now is mostly short films, industrials, and few things for broadcast. OMF use is a big deal, and I often run into issues with Final Cut exported OMFs and ProTools reading them properly.

I am in favor of an all Apple software workflow, but am open to suggestions on these issues, but ultimately - is Soundtrack Pro 2 really that incapable of doing what ProTools does?

Disclamer: I do like not being locked into Digidesign hardware, but am willing to be if ProTools is that much superior.

Please enlighten me folks.
Re: Soundtrack Pro 2 vs. ProTools LE - need advice.
May 19, 2008 04:15PM