Scoring in STP with Reason

Posted by xzeusius 
Scoring in STP with Reason
April 08, 2009 10:04AM
Hello!

I am a community college student drowning in technology! New MAC, new cams, new interfaces and an overwhelming amount of new software! OK most of my new stuff is used, but its new to me!

I have been tinkering with FCP, Reason and GarageBand with some reasonable success.

I was recently given a scoring assignment. The video clip is a 30 second QuickTime file with no sound or time code. No big deal. 30 seconds of mood music.

Now we are looking at a 15 minute sequence. Again, no sound, no time code. We are not using STP in this class. I don't even think the Prof is aware it exists.

Anyway, for efficiency's sake and practice, I dropped my sequence into FCP, gave it time code and imported the new revised piece into STP.

I connected my midi keyboard, initiated Reason and voila! I am scoring, BUT!!!!

When I attempted to lay down new track, the new track function is grayed out. I have been able to record alternate two channel tracks but thus far, true multi-tracking is eluding me.

Why can't I multi track?

I am unsure as to whether I could locate the thread I have just created to ask this question so if anyone does respond, please cc a copy to me a xzeusius@yahoo.com

Thanks,

Michael
Re: Scoring in STP with Reason
April 08, 2009 10:46AM
What version STP are you using?
Current version is 2.0.2
It's unclear whether you are having an issue with Reason or SoundTrackPro.
In STP you Add Track and you can Arm that track to Record.
You can use the Recording tab to select the source.
In that tab Configure Device opens Apple's Audio MIDI Setup utility to setup the input to the computer.

Without step by step details regarding your work flow it's hard to decipher exactly what you're doing.
April 08, 2009 02:41PM
Hi Craig,

I have STP Version 1.1 1a209 and Reason 4.0.

I tried using STP for the first time last night.