AE vs Motion

Posted by Ryan 
AE vs Motion
November 12, 2005 06:51PM
Hi I am a student studying all things editing. I completed Final Cut 1 and finishing up this semester Final Cut 2 Advanced. For next semester I can take Motion and/or After Effects. Does anyone have any advise as to which one has more real world value in terms of future employment in the world of editing?
Thanks
Ryan
Re: AE vs Motion
November 13, 2005 12:34AM
After Effects is everywhere -- Motion is still a work in progress... although as a V2 product - it can easily do a tremendous amount of high end compositing - very quickly. (still laking 3D capabilities)

You are probably better off taking an After Effects course - the learning curve is higher - so classroom instruction may be more valuable... your value as an editor will soar knowing at least the basics (about as much as I know as a producer/director/editor) I find motion much easier to "self-teach" than After Effects...their interfaces are very different - they both compliment each other...and the latest version of Motion makes it easier to import and export pieces of a project you've done in Motion - in and out of After Effects.

So if there's a choice - I'd take the After Effects course and download or read tutorials on Motion (one by Damian Allen is quite good - part of the Apple Pro Training Series - comes with clips on a DVD-ROM)

Good luck with your studies - Andy Field - FieldVision Productions - Bethesda, Maryland
November 13, 2005 09:51PM
Motion does not have a lot of the high-end features that After Effects Professional has. The job market dictates that After Effects Professional is a standard in the Motion Design / FX / compositing arena. I personally use Motion as more of an accessory to After Effects to create FX elements & backgrounds that I composite into AE timelines. Motion is very compatible with AE.