16:9 anamorphic output problem

Posted by Adam Cohen 
16:9 anamorphic output problem
November 14, 2005 01:57PM
So, I shot 16:9 anamorphic, and captured 16:9 anamorphic. When I double click on the clips in my sequence, they show up in the expected 16:9 aspect ratio in my canvas and viewer, and everything looks as it should on my NTSC monitor, as well.

But I want to export 16:9 anamorphic and I'm having problems. I select the sequence, then Export, then Quicktime Movie with Current Settings, and the result is a 4:3 squeezed verion of my edit. Same thing happens when I select DV***anamorphic from the options beneath "Current Settings". So, I'm baffled. What have I missed? Thanks in advance for your help.
i'm not an expert so this might be pointless advice, but i had simliar problems with stuff that should have been imported as anamorphic and wasn't. We would play with the current settings and discovered that you had to change the setting, then close down final cut then start it back up again otherwise it would keep using the same settings as before and we'd get the same problems.

Don't know if that'll help but i'm sure the smart guys will come up with a more intelligent answer to your question soon. They always do with my problems :-)
That didn't do it, but thanks for your suggestion.

I am baffled. There's got to be a fix for this.
Has anyone else ever had this problem at this stage? When I was a newbie, I would sometimes screw up my settings pre-capture and then have to go back and recapture footage. But here, I've clearly captured everything correctly as it displays in anamorphic 16:9 UNTIL I go to export, whether it's a quicktime movie or MPEG4, the result is the same. What have I missed?!?! Some little check box somewhere?
> I would sometimes screw up my settings pre-capture and then have to go back
> and recapture footage.