Importing files of dubious

Posted by Jboy 
Importing files of dubious
November 19, 2005 08:07PM
A friend of mine has given me files from a film he shot on a new Panasonic HD camera, but I don't know the exact specs of the material. It opens in the viewer when I import the files into a session, but then everything needs rendering when I pull it into a session. I am fairly new to FCP (4.5) , so I'd like some infor on how to:

1. Definitively ID what the original files were shot at.
2. Figure out how to import them into FCP 4.5 so that they will be useable without rendering every shot.

I'd appreciate your advice.

Jboy
JJG1953@aol.com

(USing 4.5 on a dual CPU 1 G G4)
Re: Importing files of dubious
November 19, 2005 09:31PM
The First thing you need to know is what camera and what format.

You can bring the files into your bin right click, Item properties, format, should tell you what you need to know.

from there you can make a new project and set your "easy setup" (i.e. sequence, capture, playback, and output settings) with the correct format from the FCP menu.

you might want to call your friend w/ the camera and ask him some questions.
November 19, 2005 10:08PM
He used the new Panasonic AG-DVX100A Camcorder and shot all the footage, I believe at 23.98 4:3 ratio, with the intent of eventually viewing it in 16:9. When I call up the information on the clips, it says 23.98, 720x480, DV/DVCPRo NTSC, NTSC CCIR 601. WIth these settings, the clips still chow a need to be rendered when I pull them into the sequence..
November 19, 2005 10:23PM
what are your sequence settings?
November 20, 2005 12:27AM
720x480
NTSC DV 3:2
NTSC CCIR 601/DV
Field Dominance: Lower
Quick Time COmpressor: DV/DVCPRO-NTSC

Hmmmm?
November 20, 2005 02:27AM
in FCP, the clip and sequence settings have to match exactly.

a simple way top check the myriad settings, i;ve found, is to use the BROWSER.

put the clip and the sequence in a new bin, so that they are next to each other.