Log and Capture trouble - EMERGENCY DEADLINE TOMORROW!!!!

Posted by Ace 
Hello,
I'm running FCP HD 4.5 on a G5 on Panther 10.3.9 with a 1.8 processor and a gig and a half of RAM.
The main problem here is how my computer is talking to the firewire device. Even when I started the computer up, it was slow to respond and acted strangely with the camera on and connected via firewire. When I turned the camera off it worked fine. I repaired Disk Permissions and everything worked fine, but when I started using the program everything went screwy.
When I open the Log and Capture feature it either says it is unable to initialize or it takes forever and finally give me an error that there's something wrong with my Quicktime and to check my hardware, or it just stalls out. with the camera connected and on, the timeline is sluggish and drops frames. With the camera off this problem is gone.
Is this something simple I've missed? I'm new to Panther... is there some setting for handling external firewire devices that I didn't know about in this version?
Please help, I'm cutting a promo reel for a reality show due into the Exec. Producers in the morning!!!! I'm down to the wire!!!!!
Some of you experts have really helped me before... derekmok I believe.... are you out there? I need you!
Ace
Re: Log and Capture trouble - EMERGENCY DEADLINE TOMORROW!!!!
November 21, 2005 02:03AM
While I'm certainly not an expert. What version of Quicktime are you running? Have you recently upgraded any software i.e. quicktime or your OS. If so you may want to try this.
[docs.info.apple.com]
apparently 4.5 has a bug... and it affects the computers ability to tell it's firewire devices apart and gets all confused. Yay. I'm up sh*tcreek. I plugged it into the rear firewire port and it almost worked. but then it didn't. HELP
Anonymous User
November 21, 2005 03:07AM