External Firewire Enclosures

Posted by Chad Baron 
External Firewire Enclosures
December 21, 2005 04:15PM
Hi. I have been researching building an external firewire enclosure for some "light" editing (I am a producer who will be performing basic stringouts to get the story ready for the guys with the real talent- the editors, of course!)

I would love to hear some of the recommendations of the forum regulars about my plans.

Here is the situation:

My system is a 15" G4 powerbook 1.25 GHZ with 1 GB of RAM and 1 FW 800 port and 1 FW 400 port. I will be running Final Cut 5.0

We shoot on DVX100's and the Sony HDV Z1U.

I am thinking of buying two 400GB Seagate Paralell ATA drives 16 MB cache and 7200 RPM. These are Barracuda Drives.

I will place these two drives in an enclosure that has FW 800 ports. The media will be captured on a separate system and then dumped to this drive so I can do work from home and on the road.

Questions:

1) Should I RAID the two drives or should I just have them come up as separate 400 GB drives? From what I understand, RAID will make the disks faster, but also could become more of a liability if the disks crash- as the data is saved across 2 disks instead of one.

2) Does having 800 GB's in a single enclosure create more heat and, thus, should I get a particular type enclosure to handle the power?

3) Does anyone have any strong preferences on what enclosure to go for?

4) Also, I haven't heard of people doing this, but it appears there are a few companies that could make the following scenario happen:

Buy 2 SATA internal drives, place them in an enclosure with SATA ports and buy a PCIMIA card that has SATA ports.

This would be more expensive than going with PATA, but would it also add more speed? Or is it overkill? Is it even possible??

Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks and happy holidays.

Re: External Firewire Enclosures
December 21, 2005 04:40PM