Create offline (decompose) not working

Posted by abrunger 
Create offline (decompose) not working
July 04, 2005 06:50PM
I'm an Avid editor now learning Final Cut Pro. I have a FCP 5 with a Kona2 card. The offline editor has given me a sequence for online. I deleted the audio tracks, and am trying to get the source clips for recapture at the Kona res, but only the length actually used in the sequence, not the originally captured length.

I select just the sequence and open the Media Manager, select create offline, set my sequence preset to Kona2, DESELECT "Include master clips", select "Delete unused media" (almost all media is offline anyway), select Use handles of 1:00, DESELECT "Include affiliate clips", and proceed.

But it doesn't work. The new sequence and master clips are still master clips of several minutes in length (START-END), though a duration (IN-OUT) of only a few seconds. I've tried it a dozen times without success.

I also tried another suggestion of selecting all the clips in the timeline and dragging them to the bin, which also produces the longer clips, though more of them of course since there is one for time the master clip was used. Incidentally, these clips have scene markers, and the project came from an older system, probably 4.x.

I've studied the manual, Weynand's Avid2FCP book, and assorted web forums searching for the answer for a full day. What am I missing here? Thanks for any help!

Andre Brunger
Casablanca Magnetic North
Re: Create offline (decompose) not working
July 04, 2005 07:39PM
This is possibly a bug. There is a previous discussion about it here <[www.lafcpug.org];

There's also a workaround in the thread using batch export that worked for the original poster.
July 04, 2005 07:59PM
Thanks for any validation that i'm not crazy.

I don't see how batch export will help in this situation. I don't have media files to export. I just want to create offline clips.

Andre Brunger
July 05, 2005 07:58AM