Basic audio boosting crisis

Posted by weinsteins 
Basic audio boosting crisis
August 06, 2006 10:15AM
Hello...
I stupidly recorded an entire piece (including interviews etc...) with my attenuator on and of course, all the audio is extremely low. I'm not a real expert in FCP, but I do know that you can boost audio by increasing it 12db (dragging it up to 12db). But what can I do beyond that? Anybody know any other ways to boost audio in FCP? Please reply to sarah4w@aol.com

(PS -- I also have Soundtrack Pro but I've never used it. But if there's a way to use that to boost it, let me know and I'll figure it out!)

Thank you very much!

Re: Basic audio boosting crisis
August 06, 2006 11:13AM
> But what can I do beyond that?

Effects - Audio Filters - Apple - AUDynamicsProcessor. This filter allows you to add up to 60dB boost on top of the 12dB volume boost. If your sound isn't audible after around 18dB of boost, then chances are your noise-voice ratio is too high to save and you should go to ADR. A Compressor filter should also help.

Soundtrack Pro has other tricks to process sound, but I'm not familiar with it.
August 06, 2006 12:35PM
You can also raise the clip audio by itself, then do an Audio Mixdown and raise it yet again...but this will also increase ambient noise. BTW Derek's suggestion about ADR is a good one - I would take it into ProTools and fix it there, but this may not be an option for you.
August 06, 2006 03:44PM
Larry Jordan's August newsletter has details on derekmok's AUDynamicsProcessor suggestion

[www.larryjordan.biz]

August 06, 2006 10:41PM
Or even simpler, just copy the audio clip and paste the copy below the original. Repeat until you've got it loud enough.
August 08, 2006 11:17AM
You can solve the volume problem and the possible noise to signal ratio by sending your clip to Soundtrack Pro. Here's how it works.

Right click your clip and choose: Send To: Soundtrack Pro Audio File. Choose a save name and then STP will open.