Workflow with FCPRO on a self funded doc

Posted by juan_lipton 
Workflow with FCPRO on a self funded doc
September 07, 2006 05:08PM
Dear friends,

I've been working as a DP for many years and have limited experience in the post world. I'm working on a self funded documentary film and am trying to figure out a suitable workflow given my circumstances.

footage has been recorded on Panasonic Varicam and HVX-200.

I have a Macbook pro 2.16GHZ w/ 2GB ram and FCPRO 5.1.1
I'm anticipating buying a 500GB G-raid drive soon.

I do not have a DVCPRO deck. An editor friend had suggested that I buy a minidv deck with time code and, in big batches, dub my DVCPRO tapes to minidv with timecode with a rented HD deck. Then I can edit to my hearts content with the DV footage. When the project is done, I will rent the DVCPRO deck and switch out the DV footage for HD.

He also said that, since DV is higher resolution than DVD (mpeg2) I would be able to burn trailers to DVD no problem.

With this system I can also easily work on multiple projects and wipe my drive as necessary to load different projects. I can always reinstate other projects by re-capturing with the DV tapes. And my HD tapes sit on the shelf safe and sound.

regarding the P2, I can make a timeline in FCPRO and play out to the rented DVCPRO HD deck to create masters. Then make minidv copies for editing.

SO... I need the cheapest minidv deck that will handle timecode?
I will use my 500Gig g-raid drive for footage.

How does this workflow sound ?

sincerely yours,

John Tipton
Re: Workflow with FCPRO on a self funded doc
September 07, 2006 05:27PM
A big problem will be that your imports from the HVX won't be DV quality, and you cannot import it at DV quality. You'd have to downnconvert. Then there is the mess of recapturing later at higher resolution and hoping it is frame accurate.