wmv converted to mov (quicktime)

Posted by blue11d1 
wmv converted to mov (quicktime)
March 24, 2006 01:20AM
HELP!!!! It's been a full f**king day of searching. Most probably because I'm a novice professional.?

So, I have these files in wmv format on my pc and need to edit them in final cut pro. I downloaded the flip4mac trial program but I have quicktime v. 6.4 and flip4mac requires 6.5 or better. So now I have to buy quicktime when I have quicktime and I don't want to have to spend all that cash. I'm willing, however to buy a program that fixes my problem but not two programs. It would be even nicer if there was one simple free program that one of you professional professionals could help me get so I could convert these stinking wmv files to mov files.

Wouldn't it be great if you could select SAVE AS and then simply change the file type like word documents on PCs.

help
thanks
Re: wmv converted to mov (quicktime)
March 24, 2006 02:47AM
Quicktime Pro 7 is only $29.99, cheaper than ANY utility out there that will "fix" your problem. If you are heading in the professional direction, purchasing QT7 should not be an issue as the job you are currently working would pay for QT in the first hour.

Besides, you said that you searched a full day for an alternative to buying QT7 for $30. Well, a full day is at least 8 hrs, and if you are charging a modest $40/hr, you actually cost yourself $320 - $30 = $290! And, if you spent more than 8 hrs searching... well, you can do the math. Time to buy a solution that you know will work and actually make some money! :-)

My 2 cents...

Ta

Thanks
Gary Sumlak
thumbprints Multimedia Inc.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
[www.thumbprints.ca]

*** Superior Film Transfers at a Reasonable Price ***
March 24, 2006 02:56AM
QT 6.4 can be updated to 6.5 without a cost. Only the major upgrades 6 - 7 cost. Flip4Mac is about the best choice for converting WMV to Quicktime that I know about.
March 24, 2006 08:07AM
> Quicktime Pro 7 is only $29.99