Rode NT-1 microphone

Posted by Nick Meyers 
Rode NT-1 microphone
April 13, 2006 11:50PM
yesterday i did some VO recording with a Rode NT-1 cardiod mic
sounded pretty good to me. (especially for the price)
good enough to consider buying my own

anyone used this mic,
and have an opinion on it?

thanks,
nick

Re: Rode NT-1 microphone
April 14, 2006 12:08AM
ive been using NT2's for like 8 years now and for the money, ALL the rode products are unbeatable.

the only thing better than an NT1 is an NT2, and the only thing better than an NT2 is a neumann TLM 103 and its like 300-400 dollars more...

worth it? maybe, but not a night and day difference

keep in mind, when i say "the only" i mean that from a vaule perspective only, you can spend $4000 or more on a mic and some people will hear a difference (in a proper studio, if given an A/B test), but will your end user? DOUBTFUL!
tc
April 14, 2006 12:55AM
Hi,

I've got the NT1-A and am very pleased, particularly as a VO and vocal mic.
It's a great value.

What Wayne says, but additionally, there are different mic's for different things for very good reasons, as I'm sure you know.

I wouldn't try to use the Rode NT1 for ADR that's intended to blend seamlessly with production audio recorded with a 416 if I had a more appropriate choice- though it might be possible to do.

Each design and model is a solution to a different problem.

That said, Mike, go for the Rode with confidence that it's a good product.

tc
April 14, 2006 01:05AM
man, we could go on for pages about "horses for courses" mic wise. if one wanted to one could line up two dozen $2000+ mics and each one would sound a bit different.