AFTER EFFECTS FCP WORKFLOW

Posted by jinz 
AFTER EFFECTS FCP WORKFLOW
May 04, 2006 06:50PM
I'm new to After Effects and was wondering what you guys recommend as the best and most efficient workflow between AE and FCP? I'm working with a five minute DV CAM segment that I'd like to apply effects, transition and color correction to.

THANK YOU

Re: AFTER EFFECTS FCP WORKFLOW
May 04, 2006 07:15PM
As an AE artist primarily, I work in Final cut to do what AE cant. That is easily cut my footage. I break it down into which shots will require FX, and seperate them to another video layer for organization purposes. Then I export the footage from those sequences as individual shots which I can manipulate in AE. Make sure that you keep your codec the same and work lossless so that you dont start to loose color information etc.. and when your finished with your treated shots, import them to your project and set them ontop of the un-treated footage. This way you always have clean source material, and you can easily toggle between your treated and untreated footage to see the differences.
-A
May 04, 2006 07:26PM
Use AAF export out of FCP and into AE. Render out AE in the same codec that you use in FCP.

Andy
May 05, 2006 01:05AM
There is no set workflow for me. Sometimes I cut the A/V & color correct it all in FCP and export a Ref for graphic treatment. Sometimes I export a full mix AIFF and do the entire spot in AE. The one constant is that I use FCP to digitize all my materials from DigiBeta and lay it off when I am done. Everything else in between depends on the project.

Did I mention the friggin' thing NEVER crashes (knock wood)? Avid's still working on that.

- Joey

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

May 05, 2006 02:01AM