Pulling the trigger...

Posted by Jim Thomson 
Pulling the trigger...
May 17, 2006 01:42PM

I am new to FCP and have to get a machine now! I am either going to get a 17" Intel with and external monitor....or....a heavily configured Quad. What does this group think?

I am hesitant to get the Quad as it might be a boat anchor in 2 years. If I get the 17" I can then upgrade to an Intel workstation when they become available...and keep the laptop for obvious reasons...

Really angsting over this and could use some feedback...
Re: Pulling the trigger...
May 17, 2006 01:52PM
If you did a forum search, you would find plenty on tihs subject.

When life gives you dilemmas...make dilemmanade.

May 17, 2006 01:57PM
Get the Intel -- PowerPC's are yesterdays news...anything from here forward will be optimized for the Intel machines....
May 17, 2006 02:05PM
> I am hesitant to get the Quad as it might be a boat anchor in 2 years

You wouldn't have to worry about that -- the editor I've been working with is still using a G4 from about four years ago. As long as your machine can produce the work people need, it doesn't have to be the newest model.

That said, there's a reason why they switched to the Intel chip, and an Intel machine would probably be more upgradeable. I'd probably go with Andy's suggestion. Really, the only negative might be that you'd be one of a generation of guinea pigs if there's anything wrong with Intel machines we haven't discovered yet.
May 17, 2006 04:16PM
A 17" Intel (iMac),I assume you mean is not the right computer for FC STudio.

MInimum RAM and storage capabilities along with one video card soltion is very restrictive. Sure, yu could make this work, but at what performance cost.

And NO, I would not be afraid to get G5 today. They will still be humming along 5 years down the road.
May 17, 2006 05:05PM
I was actually consdering the 17" MacBook Pro with 2GB main, an external monitor, and external drive(s) of some sort...