How do I output to 5.1?

Posted by Katrin1980 
How do I output to 5.1?
October 17, 2008 08:11AM
I've just watched a tutorial from the newsletter about 5.1 outputting in FCP but I'm still not sure how to do it.
To explain: I don't have 5.1 system up in here in my office but downstairs in my home cinema/screening room...
In the tutorial they simply adjusted the sequence settings to 5.1 and then assigned the single tracks with an output.
Is this how it works? Which settings would I need for outputting to quicktime?
I don't wanna burn 10 DVDs just to find out if it's working and how that's why I'm asking.

Oh and...I'm a newbie winking smiley and never worked with 5.1 before.
Any help appreciated!
Re: How do I output to 5.1?
October 17, 2008 11:53AM
When you say system downstairs what do you mean? What kind of monotoring system do you have? You can't do this without a properly calibrated monitoring system. As a wise man once said its like color correcting using a black and white monitor.

So if you don't have the tools don't even try.

Send it out.

Michael Horton
-------------------
October 17, 2008 01:14PM
oh, well, I don't. I just have a Teufel surround system. And I thought if I just created enough tracks in FCP and tell the system to use 5.1 while outputting to DVD it would work.
Sorry for asking so stupid questions and thanks for your patient answers!cool smiley
October 17, 2008 01:57PM
There are no stupid questions. smiling smiley

It really is impossible to do a 5.1 mix without a properly calibrated monitoring system set up in a proper room. And that ain't cheap. I imagine some folks have done it and it went OK, and they can give us tips, but you really will save money and time in the long run by sending out to a post house. If you live in LA check out the Talent directory and say your are from lafcpug and make a deal.

[www.lafcpug.org]

Michael Horton
-------------------
October 17, 2008 04:44PM