HD Log & Capture Questions

Posted by Haskin 
HD Log & Capture Questions
March 02, 2009 06:49PM
Hello. Newcomer here. Hope my questions aren't too lame, but I'm new to editing in HD. I have some questions regarding the initial logging & capturing of mini DV HD footage that was recorded on a Canon XHA1. I'm using a camera, the Canon HV 20, to capture because I don't have a deck. I have a MacPro, OS 10.5.6 with FCP 6.0.5, 4GB memory, plus an Iomega 500GB external hard drive. My question regards capturing in native HD. I read the FAQ that recommends editing in native HD but have also heard that the files will be too big, that I should edit in SD then convert back to HD for export before burning a DVD. However the FAQ says the files are smaller in native HD plus there will be quality loss from HD/SD back to HD, so I'm a little confused. I need to edit a 3-5 minute trailer which will then become a 20-30 minute piece, then eventually a 90 minute documentary. Of course, I want it to look as good as it can. Any help understanding this would be greatly appreciated or if someone could point me towards a paper that will explain it all.

Also, what is the best setting for capturing? Simply HDV or the Apple ProRes 422?

Thanks in advance,

Haskin
Re: HD Log & Capture Questions
March 02, 2009 07:13PM
More about the computer: MacPro 3,1 Quad Core Intel Xeon, 2.8Ghz with dual hard drives 300GB in Bay 1 & 500GB in Bay 2. Firewire up to 800 mb/sec.
March 03, 2009 03:30PM
I have not done very much hd but....

Hd eats gigs up. LARGE FILES

Format Data rate (Mbps) GB per hour of video
Compressed formats
720 x 480 DV 4:1:1 25 11
720 x 480 DV50 4:2:2 50 22
HD-DVCPRO 100 44

Uncompressed 10-bit formats
720 x 486 4:2:0 210 92
1280 x 720/24p 4:2:0 332 146
1280 x 720/60p 4:2:0 818 364
1920 x 1080/24p 4:2:0 746 328
1920 x 1080/60i 4:2:0 932 410

Capture your native hd codec for quality. Meaning the exact form you filmed in and don't worry about saving gigs hard drives are cheap.