Using Compressor with HDV looks blocky...revisited

Posted by CaseyPetersen 
Using Compressor with HDV looks blocky...revisited
May 15, 2009 10:42AM
Here's a weird problem I have experienced since I've been using Compressor:

When I output a project to MPEG2 using Compressor, it looks a little "blocky" on my 32 inch HDTV monitor when played on a standard DVD player...ESPECIALLY with graphics and text.

The way I have been making DVDs for the past several years has been to lay my edited project back to HDV tape, and then play that out of my Sony Z1U downconverting to standard def. and recording on a Panasonic DVD recorder, stripping the MPEG2 and the AC3 off the disc using MPEG Streamclip and make my authored disc with menus in DVDSP.

I posted this probably a year ago and never got any resolution, but recently I made an interesting discovery which I hope can help solve this issue.

I ran a test.

TEST 1: HDV footage captured as HDV, edited, and exported to self-contained QuickTime in HDV, opened into Compressor using DVD Best Encode 90 min. setting. RESULTS: blocky looking.

TEST 2: HDV footage captured as HDV, edited, and exported to self-contained QuickTime in DV anamorphic, opened into Compressor using DVD Best Encode 90 min. setting. RESULTS: blocky looking.

TEST 3: HDV footage captured as DV anamorphic, edited, and exported to self-contained QuickTime in DV anamorphic, opened into Compressor using DVD Best Encode 90 min. setting. RESULTS: BEAUTIFUL FOOTAGE!

So the problem went away when I captured HDV as DV anamorphic.

Any thoughts as to why this is happening, and how to actually encode HDV in Compressor in a way that works, would be appreciated!

Thanks!
Casey Petersen
www.unitedvideoinc.com
Re: Using Compressor with HDV looks blocky...revisited
May 15, 2009 11:06AM
There are a few places where your workflow is kinda ? well, ugly.