green screen

Posted by pageprod 
green screen
June 23, 2006 09:21AM
I'm kinda new at this -- and have to do a green screen (basic -- i have host on cameras in front of green and i need to add a mloving video background -- what do i do?)
Re: green screen
June 23, 2006 09:27AM
June 23, 2006 10:17AM
Pageprod,

new, and green sceen. If this is a paying client then I would do this and understand it before you shoot for the client.

If its for fun and experience thats differerent.

Note that your camera will play a big part in how well the green screen turns out.

If you have a single chip consumer camera, you may not get very good results.

THree chip camera's for this kind of work.

Lonn Bailey
June 23, 2006 11:46AM
key words here LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, LIGHTING, - did i mention lighting?

and a big room helps as well. id say NO LESS than 16 to 20 feet between you and the green screen.
June 23, 2006 11:55AM
Also need to think about the format. The age-old is wisdom is that DV will not pull a good key. I know this from personal experience. Due to the color space restrictions of DV, you will end up with the interviewee having jaggy or "stair-step" edges. Some keying software claims it can work with your DV footage, but
frankly, it's not a risk I'd take with a paying job.

If this is for a client, I would seriously consider using a Betacam or a camera like the HVX200. The color space is twice that of DV and therefore allows for much smoother, natural keys. But the camera's not your only issue. You must make sure you have both your subject and the screen lit extremely well.
When I do green screen work, I usually have two 750W softboxes lighting the screen, plus a 500 or 750 lighting the subject from the front, a halo light from the back. Using a good keyer like Primatte or Keylight is also extremely helpful.