organising MacPro hard drives

Posted by Stephen Waite 
organising MacPro hard drives
March 08, 2011 10:23PM
I have had a search of the site for some advice on this but haven't found an answer.
I am an enthusiastic illiterate amateur who has been using FCP on a MacBookPro. I now have a MacPro with 4 x 2TB hard drives. I would apprciate some help and advice on the best way to organise the OS, capture scratch, projects and files on the hard drives.
I am grateful for any help.
Thanks
Stephen
Re: organising MacPro hard drives
March 08, 2011 11:12PM
There's lots of ways to do it. Here's what I do

The OS and FCP and autosave vault all go on one drive. This is the main MacHD.

Then I have a drive called 'Clients' for small clients with jobs less than 500GB. Each client gets their own folder, which contains everything relating to their projects. Capture, graphics, contracts, music, whatever. There is also a copy of their project file(s) in here, but I back these up elsewhere as well.

Then I have a couple of clients who need a whole drive (or more) to themselves. These are charged out to the client and contain all their data. Because the drives can swap in and out so easily, some of my clients have drives sitting on the shelf for the next time I work for them.

Anything that would make me cry or swear to lose is backed up and stored externally.

So, whenever I start a new project, say for a new small client, I make a new folder for them on the Client drive, and everything goes in there, then gets imported into their FCP project. This also makes archiving a lot easier, cause you know everything is being saved when you archive the folders.

March 09, 2011 03:29PM
Thanks Jude.
I will get myself organised and back up everything.
Kind regards
Stephen
March 09, 2011 05:46PM