Inadvertently got tangled up (in maybe) so much nesting that it is starting to corrupt and slowdown my almost finished project.

Posted by el trent 
PmacG4, OSX, Dual-1.25Gb RAM, FCP3, 4-hds, 2-120Gbs, 149Gb, 233Gb, learning computer editing.

I am an artist, unfortunately not a computer person, trying to learn off the books, to work on a computer editing program, so am pretty sure I am doing things maybe off the ?normal? map, not that is any excuse. There is not an FCP learning place near here.

I have been editing a 4 yr project that is finally looking pretty good, and on playback, now find it is now seemingly wanting to cut some itself. Previously cut sequences now have video that I didn?t put there. Or in other cases have static, or off-line, where coherent edited sound used to be. Would like to be able to save and use what work is left.

I noticed my media drive (120Gb) was filling up, and had installed 2 more new drives, the 149 and 233, where all new saving was to be manually directed. But, still the media 120 GB got into the KBs before I noticed it again, apparently with auto saves. So I know I need to fix or change that. Tried to get this clear number up by deleting some of those, which it did, but not enough. Haven?t had time to re-check these yet.

So, not sure what to do next. Possibly need to get the media drive down in size to 15% clear. Most of what is left on this is my original ?dailies?, could those be transferred to one of the larger new drives without losing the links?

And since I have been cutting this ?by distillation? as I, as a film person, know, is there any way I can save copies of my original honed recuts, or what is left of them, without further confusing this computer? Should I be adding another new project if the computer is already getting confused with how I am working? Tried to save some new, fixed sequences as new projects, but this seems to take a lot of time.