Speaking of keyboard layouts

Posted by camshaft 
Speaking of keyboard layouts
October 15, 2006 02:29PM
This is not a question. It is not an endorsement. More of a testimonial, I guess. I just had to put my two cents in.

I have FCP at home. At work there is Avid and PDR systems. PDR is a kind of bastard system that uses the old Grass Valley interface recording to multiple hard drives. Anyway, when I was first learning Avid, I mapped the keyboard to be as similar as possible to the GVG keyboard, which of course blew off a lot of dedicated keys, but made things easier for switching between systems. As time went on I had to remap the formerly dedicated keys to Function keys, or any key that was empty. I then carried around strips of white tape with my newly mapped keys written on that I would tape to the top of the keyboard. When I started learning FCP last year, I did the same.

So, then I was stuck with these multiple systems, strips of tape with fading chickenscratches reminding me of where everything was. It was getting pretty convoluted!!

Then I discovered NeoTron's keyguides and a lightbulb went off! Here was virtually everything I needed to know on one laminated sheet. Now, I feel that Apple maps the FC app in a way that pretty much makes sense. Avid not so much so. But, with these nice mats in plain view, I have started from scratch learning the default keyboards, and go with it, rather than fight it.

However, the JKL IO with one hand over the other is still a pretty awkward way to work. I just may have to remap....just these two commands...no, Cam, just leave it alone.

Cameron Young
Re: Speaking of keyboard layouts
October 15, 2006 02:45PM
Just to offer a different opinion...I feel that the best way to tackle multiple systems is to learn the default keys, not map your own. Advantages:

1. When you switch from one FCP station to another, you don't have to spend 10 minutes remapping the keyboard;