Editing PAL in FCP

Posted by Jeff Green 
Editing PAL in FCP
October 31, 2006 09:33PM
I'm being sent some PAL footage to edit. I've never used PAL footage before. I'm running FCP 4.5, on a dual 2 G5, OS 10.3.9.

3 questions.

Can you edit PAL footage in FCP just by choosing the right capture and sequence settings?

When done, can I export it either as PAL or NTSC? And re: the latter, are there serious image anomalies transferring between formats?

I don't have a PAL deck to capture. I can rent one, but alternately, I can ask the client in England to capture the footage there, export Quicktime movies, and send to me on a hard drive. Will that work? Do QT movies come in NTSC or PAL flavors, or is QT just QT?

Thanks.
Re: Editing PAL in FCP
November 01, 2006 02:29AM
choose the right pal sequence settings, import the pal Quicktime clips and edit in your pal Timeline

export will be in pal / you can transcode when exporting but you are better of to transcode the seq before. ( size and frequence rate) Nattress plugs do a great job at it for instance
November 01, 2006 02:47PM
Yep agreed - work natively in PAL then convert to NTSC later.

I would go for the rental of deck especially if your viewing monitor is multiformat ie: handles PAL/NTSC.

The shipping of the HDD might be more costly - I would check first.

Do QT movies come in NTSC or PAL flavors, or is QT just QT?

Yes PAL or NTSC or any other format you can use with QT, basically QT is a wrapper for the CODEC. In this case you'll be working with FCP/QT in a PAL CODEC thats all.

You might like to read up about the PAL format a bit before you start (check google) but essentially PAL is much easier to work with than NTSC.

A few things you should know:

D1 Digital PAL and PAL DV is CCIR601 or ITU-R BT 601

Framesize is 720x576 non-square pixels for both 4:3 & 16:9FHA

25 frames per second on 50 interlaced fields per second

8-bit 4:2:2 on Digibeta & DVCpro50

8-bit 4:1:1 on DVCpro25

8-bit 4:2:0 on DV/DVCAM