Upgrading question.....Have done Homework.

Posted by Neil Lamens 
Upgrading question.....Have done Homework.
January 24, 2007 02:50PM
Hello all:

I've searched here, investigated as best I can; now I need expertise. I want to mention I am a solid novice having completed to market one commercially successful "How to video" and am presently finishing the shooting phase of my 2nd.

I want to upgrade....my G4.....(eye-yey-yey you say)...FCP3.04 to FC Studio.

Will my investigation work.........

Presently....... G4 with OS 10.2.8, 1 gig memeory, 1 GHzPower PC G4 ver=2.1
2-80 Gig internal drives, and 3 external drives daisy chained 1-120,
2-160G. This system has been very very stable.

I want to upgrade to FC Studio and use my present Adobe software: PS7, Illustrator10, After Effects 5.5 (I know there is a Motion issue here).

Will this work???:

Add ATI Radeon9600 AGP4X 256MB VRAM Video Card to deal with Motion, another Gig of memory, Upgrade OS to Tiger, and possibly add 160 Gig internal Drive to carry the applications.

Also, I know After Effects will not work seamlessly with motion without an upgrade, but will PS7, Illustrator10, and the ability to render a movie in After Effects for import into FCP run properly. Will use DVD ST Pro in studio pkg.

I'm open to suggestions if others have done this upgrade.....please don't say get a G5 etc, I have thought out my upgrade schedule and plan the next to be a new system.

Greatly appreciate your thoughts.........Thank you...........Sailho
Re: Upgrading question.....Have done Homework.
January 24, 2007 03:14PM
Here's one of my systems. I did this before buying a Quad G5.

Quciksilver 2002 dual 1.0 GHz G4 with 1.5 GB RAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Mac Edition video card - 2 -250 GB SATA drives inside and 2 - 250 GB SATA drives external.

Final Cut Studio 5.1 - Tiger 4.6 - Quicktime 7.1 - Shake 4 - Photoshop CS 2 - etc.