Are MP3 sound files good enough?

Posted by simone 
Are MP3 sound files good enough?
March 19, 2007 12:31PM
I'm working with a voice talent from another town. He wants to e-mail me the narration for my corporate video as MP3 files, but I am wondering whether the quality would be good enough? Aren't those files compressed a whole lot? I've never done MP3s before.

Alternatively, if I paid him to burn me something onto CD, but he can't do QT files, what should I pick for best quality and easy import into FCP? Are .wav files any good? What about AIFF?

Thanks,

Simone
Re: Are MP3 sound files good enough?
March 19, 2007 12:37PM
Mp3's are very compressed. For voice it wouldn't be that noticable but I would ask him to burn some AIFF files, at 48khz/16bit, to a CD as data files (NOT an audio CD). That way you can drop them straight into FCP without having to render.
March 19, 2007 12:40PM
I get files from my announcer in New York (I'm in LA) as MP3 files. That's the "most common denominator" file for our broadcast group. I then use a droplet in compressor to make them .aiff for final cut. They sound great.
Of course, it depends on how well the clips are recorded in the first place, but assuming your voice talent has a decent setup you should be fine.
J
March 19, 2007 03:17PM
Hi Simone,

The answer to your question, like so many others is "It depends."

I'm a full time voice-talent. The path which took me to my current career included time spent as a broadcast engineer, video/film director, recording engineer and studio owner.