Varicam sync issue

Posted by Jude Cotter 
Varicam sync issue
March 20, 2007 11:19PM
I've got a client who is shooting and editing in Varicam for the first time, having trouble during pre shoot testing with a 1 frame sync issue. I am by no means a varicam expert - in fact I'm a varicam baby - but they need help and I'm it.

The set up, AFAIK, is shooting 720p 24 (23.98), capturing via a AJHD 1400 and a blackmagic Decklink HD to a G5 with terrabytes of storage attached.

They are - wisely - trying to get the workflow right before they start shooting, but have apparently been on this for some time, and have managed to reduce the sync issue from 2 frames to 1, but can't get past this.

What possible problems should I look for? I figure on testing the imported quicktimes from the drive to see if they are in sync, but I haven't been onsite yet. They have the two extra downloads installed, and say that the camera is set up correctly to be 23.98. Eventually they want to go out to D5 for easy international HD/SD distrubution.

Is there a Blackmagic offset, or a FCP offset? Where can I find out what this should be?

cheers
Jude

Re: Varicam sync issue
March 20, 2007 11:52PM
When I was researching the Varicam workflow, before starting a short film last year, I seem to remember coming across a statement somewhere that Varicam sound was 3 frames off. We had recorded sound mixing directly to the camera and then downconverted to DVCam tapes (29.97fps, obviously), then captured at 29.97fps NDF and then reverse-telecined to 23.98fps for editing. When we made the OMF and delivered to a super-high-end sound facility, our contact at the facility told us the same thing, that the whole film was off by several frames (2-3), but he also told us the sync offset was pretty consistent and they fixed it easily.

I haven't worked with Varicam long enough to know whether we missed something, but is it possible that this is just a Varicam issue?

www.derekmok.com
March 21, 2007 12:14AM